Pagan Folk Visionaries Gåte Release Mesmerizing New Album "Nord"

Norwegian pagan folk visionaries Gåte release their mesmerizing new album titled "Nord" today! The album is available on all streaming services, and you can listen to it here:

“While working on Nord we had to figure out how to find strength in the small things,” vocalist Gunnhild Sundli comments. “It was a challenging task as Gåte is usually about how to make things big.”

Gåte has always been about making everything big! The full live production, the exuberant live performances, an exaggeration of almost everything. As such you could say that Nord is a Gåte backwards. Focusing on the simple details with an acoustic take, meant for smaller crowds and acoustic performances.

“We learned a lot writing and performing the songs on Nord. About how we work with and towards music, but also about ourselves as a band”, Gunnhild says, and continues: Nord has mapped out the very essence of Gåte´s DNA, and it has opened up new paths and made us stronger and braver.”

 "Nord" is the full-length follow up of Gåte's critically acclaimed EP Til Nord (May 2021) and marks the conclusion of Gåte as an acoustic outfit.

On "Nord", the band has really taken a step back to fully explore their musical potential and expression through a more traditional and acoustic perspective. And though there definitely is something simple and clean about Nord, the power in the courageously heartfelt, raw, and epic soundscape Gåte manages to create seems even more present and complex than ever before. 


Gåte had a national breakthrough in the early 2000s with their captivating performances and groundbreaking mix of traditional folk and modern rock. With an immense respect for folk music and unparalleled talent, Gåte managed to interpret and convey traditional folk songs to a whole new generation of listeners.
In 2020, the band chose to go back to their roots and dive into the vast traditional music history Norway has to offer. The result is painstakingly beautiful and emotive collection of songs
delving deep into the musical past of their country, with a contemporary approach.

Proving yet again that great music and great art endures.


1. Solfager and Ormekongen
2. Svik
3. Hemnarsverdet
4. Horpa
5. Talande Tunger
6. Rideboll og Gullborg
7. Sigurd og Trollbrura
8. Kjærleik
9. Jomfrua Ingebjørg
10. Sjåaren


Gåte are:
Gunnhild Sundli: Vocals and violin
Magnus Børmark: Guitar, vocals, percussion
Sveinung Sundli: Hardanger fiddle, organ, vocals and percussion
Jon Even Schærer: Percussion and vocals

Melody and arrangement by Sveinung Sundli / Trad. 
Lyrics: Trad / Nora Eklo

Follow Gåte on:

Facebook | Instagram | Spotify | Homepage | YouTube

Back to blog