god seed

God Seed, a Norwegian Black Metal band that came to life after King and Gaahl parted ways with Gorgoroth in 2009, has only released one studio album. And what an album! "I Begin" was originally released in October 2012 and is now available on golden vinyl! 


Until 2009, they had taken their infamous live performance to new heights playing sold out club shows and headlining some of the biggest festivals in Europe. This manifested into their 2012 Live CD/DVD release of their now legendary Wacken performance in 2008. “I Begin” was recorded at various locations in Oslo and Bergen during August 2011 – July 2012. The recording is organic, warm and focused around true musicianship and a desire to capture the atmosphere, energy and brutality expected from King and Gaahl. The album also introduced new elements in the shape of organs and electronic sounds. All in all, this was a unique album.


God Seed - I Begin received excellent reviews:

90/100 - Rock Tribune || 90/100 - Aardschok Magazine || 9/10 - Slam-Zine || 5/6 - Metallian Mag || 5/6 - Metal Hammer GER || 5/6 - VG || 5/6 - Bergens Avis || 4/5 - Revolver Magazine

«Both musically and sonically extraordinary, I Begin is a haughty exercise in obliterating expectations. If you have any interest in black metal, this is 2012’s most essential purchase» - www.loudersound.com

"the songs are tastefully arranged, no matter their inherent violence…. simultaneously nods to the pair's past exploits and then breaks free of the restrictive B.M. aesthetic virtually demanded of Gorgoroth material." Allmusic.com

"Wayward and disobedient, I Begin contains the crucial black metal elements to secure God Seed's cold-blooded roots, but it reveals a band harnessing their will to power by determinedly ignoring constraints” About.com



Side A:
1. Awake
2. This From The Past
3 .Alt Liv
4. From The Running Of Blood
5. Hinstu Dagar

Side B:
1. Aldrande Tre
2. Lit
3. The Would
4 .Bloodline



Back to blog